Cut the guest list and the total drops. The cost per guest does not. The vendors a small wedding still needs charge what they charge at 150 guests, and that is why a wedding of up to 50 people still averages $17,100. Small weddings are cheaper per wedding, not per guest. Here is what micro weddings and elopements actually cost in New England, package by package.
Nothing moves a wedding budget like the guest count. The Knot's 2025 data splits the national average by size: up to 50 guests, $17,100; 51 to 100 guests, $27,200; over 100 guests, $43,300. Cutting a wedding from 120 guests to 40 is the single biggest saving available to most couples, bigger than any vendor swap.
But the saving stops at a floor, and the floor is the fixed costs. A photographer, an officiant, a cake and a license cost the same for 20 guests as for 200, so a small wedding carries the full weight of them on a short guest list. That is why the average small wedding lands at $17,100 rather than at some tidy fraction of the $34,200 national average, and why small full weddings in New England generally land between $15,000 and $25,000. The packages below show where real couples get under that floor, and what they give up or keep to do it.
These are real, published packages from New England officiants and venues, collected in our research and printed exactly as scoped. Read the "what is included" column before comparing prices: a $150 signing and a $2,700 all-inclusive elopement are not the same product, and neither is a $4,700 venue-only rental with food still to buy.
| Package | Where | What is included | Guests | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legal signing ("Let's Make It Legal") | New England Ceremonies, Bristol, RI | Officiant signing to make it legal. Ceremony only, no reception. | The couple | $150 |
| Elopement ceremony | New England Ceremonies, Bristol, RI | Officiant elopement ceremony. Ceremony only, no reception. | The couple | $250 |
| Ceremony at your location | New England Ceremonies, Bristol, RI | Officiant ceremony performed at a location you choose. Ceremony only, no reception. | The couple | $350 |
| Elopement package | Palmer House Inn, Falmouth, MA | Elopement package at a Cape Cod inn. Accommodation is extra. | Couple plus 2 guests | $1,290 plus accommodation |
| Ultimate Private Wedding | Palmer House Inn, Falmouth, MA | Private wedding package at the inn. Rooms are extra. | Up to 4 guests | $3,500 plus rooms |
| Classic Elopement | Boylston Rooms, Easthampton, MA | All-inclusive elopement package, 2027 pricing. | Up to 10 guests | $2,700 |
| Micro wedding base | The Tillerman, Vermont | Base micro wedding package; drinks are extra. The venue's own average invoice runs $9,500 to $15,000 including venue, food, beverage, tax and gratuity, and excluding lodging and outside vendors like photography and flowers. | Up to 30 people | $6,450–$7,950 plus drinks |
| Micro wedding packages | Lemont Hall, Brunswick, ME | Micro wedding packages. The published listing does not state a guest cap. | Not stated | $7,000–$12,000 |
| Micro wedding, venue only | Maine Wedding Barn, Minot, ME | Venue only, Sunday to Thursday. Food is not included. | Up to 50 guests | $4,700 (May to Aug), $5,500 (Sep to Oct) |
| Micro weddings generally | Vermont guide range | A Vermont microwedding guide's general range for the state, not one venue's package. | Micro weddings | $2,000–$10,000+ |
Prices are the officiants' and venues' own published figures, collected in the Mazie Says research audits and checked November 2026. Packages change; treat this table as the documented shape of the market, and confirm current pricing with the venue before you plan around a number.
Half the guests does not mean half the budget, for three reasons the research keeps surfacing.
A photographer charges for a day of skilled work, not per guest: the national average is $3,000 whether 20 people or 200 watch. An officiant averages $260. A planner, a cake, attire, a license: all priced by the job, not the headcount. Spread the $17,100 small-wedding average over 50 guests and it comes to about $342 per guest, more per head than the $292 per guest the average 117-guest wedding spends. Small weddings buy the same professional core and split it fewer ways.
Florists, bakers and photographers commonly set minimum orders or minimum coverage fees. At 150 guests those minimums are invisible inside a normal order. At 20 guests they can set the price of the whole category, which is why micro wedding quotes sometimes look oddly close to bigger weddings' quotes for the same vendor.
The classic micro wedding format, a restaurant private room or buyout, replaces the venue rental fee with a food and beverage minimum, a buyout fee, or both. One documented example, a New York City restaurant, priced its buyout at $5,000 to $14,000 plus a $10,000 evening food and beverage minimum; that is a single restaurant's terms, printed here as an example of how the model works, not as a New England norm. Many private rooms waive the room fee entirely when the minimum is met. Either way, the minimum is a spend floor, and the 18 to 26 percent service charge and tax still apply on top of it.
The needs list shrinks with the guest list. It does not shrink to zero, and the lines couples most often wrongly assume have vanished are the professional core: photography, an officiant, a cake, flowers, attire, the marriage license, and liability insurance where the venue requires it. Elopements keep a shorter list again, but not an empty one: license, ceremony, and usually a photographer and a bouquet are the documented pattern.
The needs list shows the complete checklist for every wedding format; its micro wedding and elopement views are the companion to this page, with the lines a small wedding keeps, the ones it drops, and the ones couples forget flagged.
Every forgotten cost on a big wedding's list exists at small scale too, and each one is a bigger share of a smaller budget.
| Commonly missed line | Typical cost |
|---|---|
| Service charge on catering or a restaurant minimum (a fee, not a tip) | 18–26% |
| Marriage license | $20–$115 |
| Certified copies of the marriage certificate | $10–$25 per copy |
| Hair and makeup trials | $75–$200 each |
| Alterations | $300–$800 |
| Tips across the vendor team | $500–$2,000 |
| Vendor meals | Per person, varies |
| Cake-cutting and corkage, if you bring your own | $1–$5 a slice, $15–$25 a bottle |
| Postage for invitations and thank-yous | Varies |
A contingency of 5 to 15 percent on top is standard advice, and 10 percent is the common recommendation. On a $10,000 micro wedding, one $800 surprise is 8 percent of the whole budget, so the buffer matters more, not less, at small scale.
The state medians tell the quiet story of this page: in every New England state, half of couples spend less than about $20,000 on their wedding. The Wedding Report's 2025 medians are $19,241 in Maine, $20,122 in New Hampshire, $19,462 in Vermont, $20,584 in Massachusetts, $19,436 in Rhode Island and $20,000 in Connecticut. Micro weddings and elopements are not an edge case in this region; they are a large part of how the median gets to be the median. Our research found priced micro and elopement packages in Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts and Rhode Island; no priced package surfaced for New Hampshire or Connecticut, though their medians say small weddings happen there at the same rates.
State by state, with the averages and medians behind them:
Tell us your budget, your guests and your wedding type. Get a straight verdict in minutes: fits, or over, by how much, and why.
Take the quizThe Knot republishes its study every February and the medians move with it. Leave an email and we will send one short note when this page's numbers are refreshed. No newsletter spam, and you can unsubscribe any time.
Thanks, you are on the list. We will write when the numbers change.
Figures on this page come from The Knot's 2026 Real Weddings Study (10,474 couples married in 2025; the guest-count averages, the $292 per guest figure and the vendor averages among couples who hired each vendor), The Wedding Report's 2025 state medians, and the Mazie Says category audit of the last five years of wedding spending research, checked November 2026. The package prices are the officiants' and venues' own published figures, collected venue by venue in our New England research pass and printed with the scope each seller states; they are documented packages, never averages. The restaurant buyout figures are a single documented New York City example from the category audit, printed as an example of the minimum and buyout model. The one derived figure on the page, about $342 per guest for a 50-guest wedding at the small-wedding average, is simple division of The Knot's published figures, and the math is published in our sources file. Vendor-name and couple-level data are never published without consent; contributed quotes are anonymized before use. This page is refreshed when the studies republish.
Mazie Says is a planning tool, not a vendor. No vendor pays for placement here, ever.